Anders Hyltander won the Arvid Carlsson Award 2021
Arvid Carlsson Award 2021
Ceremony at Park Annual on 7 Oct 2021. From the left: Charlotta Gummeson, CEO, Sahlgrenska SP, Anders Hyltander, Surgical Science, Anna-Carin Olin, PExA, Marianne Dicander Alexandersson, Chairman of the Board, Sahlgrenska SP

This year’s Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park was awarded to Anders Hyltander, Surgical Science.

Publish date: 2021-10-08 Text: 
Lizelotte Edvinsson

Since 2017, Sahlgrenska Science Park pays tribute to innovation, knowledge and competence in conjunction with good entrepreneurship through this award in Nobel Prize laureate Arvid Carlsson’s name.

The winner this year, Anders Hyltander, is an associate professor and chief physician in surgery. Today he is also working with strategy and developing Life Science and AI at Sahlgrenska University Hospital.

“He is an excellent example of how a healthcare professional, who identified an unmet need in clinical training and practice, developed a concept that led to widespread improvements for patients and physicians as well as a successful global company, now on the stock market,” says Marianne Dicander Alexandersson, Chairman of the board, Sahlgrenska Science Park.

Together with a technical team and long before AI was on everybody’s lips, the winner developed products that are now on the market as virtual reality simulators, bridging the gap between classroom pedagogy and the operation room for surgeons in training.

“I feel deeply honoured, almost overwhelmed.  I am very satisfied that together with very skilled software developers, Anders Larsson and David Löfstrand, we could make a difference in improving the quality of care and patient safety, and that is what counts at the end of the day,” says Anders Hyltander.

The winner is an inspiration to others, showing how passion and persistence pay off, both in creating a successful business and in making a difference to patients.

“The message I try to convey to my younger colleagues is; don’t be afraid. If you have an idea, go for it. The innovation system is well equipped, and today we have structures that can help you on the entrepreneurial journey,” says Anders Hyltander.

Last year’s winner, Anna-Carin Olin, PExA, passed the prize on at a ceremony yesterday at the 16th Park Annual by Sahlgrenska Science Park. She was also part of the jury for this year’s award.

“This is the 5th consecutive year for the award, and the jury now consists of previous winners together with our Chairman of the board and myself,” says Charlotta Gummeson, CEO Sahlgrenska Science Park.