Call for nominations: The Arvid Carlsson Award 2024

We are delighted to open the Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park 2024 for nominations. This marks the 8th consecutive year a life science entrepreneur will be recognized at the Park Annual event in Gothenburg.

Publish date: 2024-06-27

Co-founded by Nobel laureate Arvid Carlsson and Sahlgrenska Science Park in 2017, the award honours innovation, competence development, knowledge, and entrepreneurship in life sciences.

"I'm deeply grateful for the honor of receiving this award. This recognition is a testament to the dedication and collaboration that have gone into this cutting-edge technology that disrupts the radiation protection market... It's a reminder of our commitment to improving the work environment for healthcare professionals with our patented textile,” says Petra Apell, award winner 2023 for her innovative textile that protects medical practitioners from harmful radiation with her company, Texray.

At the Park Annual by Sahlgrenska Science Park event on 24 October, she will pass the trophy to the new winner.

Nominate your candidate

Making a nomination is easy. Just click the link and answer six questions.

Nominations are open through 27 September.

What the jury is looking for

The prize is awarded to an entrepreneur in academia, healthcare, or industry who promotes long-term competence development to ensure West Sweden's competitiveness in life science.

The award aims to honor promising entrepreneurs and stimulate continued learning and networking globally.

Previous winners:

Prize details

The winner receives a diploma, a challenge prize, and participation in an international conference, including travel and accommodation. Insights from the conference may be shared in a lecture at Sahlgrenska Science Park.

About Arvid Carlsson

Arvid Carlsson won the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 2000 for his work on neurotransmitters. A true entrepreneur, he played a pivotal role in the Sahlgrenska Science Park community.


Learn more about the Arvid Carlsson Award and the previous winners.


Contact us

Related stories