Filip Peters won the Arvid Carlsson Award 2022
Filip Peters

This year’s Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park was awarded to Filip Peters, Acorai, for turning smartphones into heart failure monitoring devices. With more than 60 million patients suffering from heart failure globally, the winner of the Arvid Carlsson Award 2022 is addressing a huge health and healthcare problem, by using new technologies to simplify the diagnosis and follow-up care. 

Publish date: 2022-12-01 Text: 
Lizelotte Edvinsson

It is a non-invasive and handheld monitoring device allowing specialised healthcare to be performed remotely, which may reduce heart failure re-hospitalization and mortality rates significantly. 

"The name Acorai is a combination of three words; Acoustics, Core and AI - meaning Listen to your heart with AI. We define ourselves as a software defined hardware company which means that we have built our hardware based on unique insights from fluid dynamics to enable the measurements of the pressure inside the heart, which are really the most important vital signs when it comes to managing the patients”, said Filip Peters, founder of Acorai and winner of the Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park 2022 .  

Since 2017, Sahlgrenska Science Park pays tribute to innovation, knowledge and competence in conjunction with good entrepreneurship through this award in Nobel Prize laureate Arvid Carlsson’s name.

The winner is an inspiration to others, showing how passion and persistence pay off, both in creating a successful business and in making a difference to patients.

Last year’s winner, Anders Hyltander, founder of Surgical Science passed the prize on at a ceremony yesterday at the 17th Park Annual by Sahlgrenska Science Park. Together with other previous winners he was also part of the jury for this year’s award.

Jury 2022

Hector Martinez, CTO, BICO (Cellink)
Jens Nielsen, Professor, CEO BioInnovation Institute
Anna-Carin Olin, Founder and Board member, PexA
Anders Hyltander, Founder Surgical Science
Together with:
Marianne Dicander Alexandersson, Chairman, Sahlgrenska Science Park
Charlotta Gummeson, CEO, Sahlgrenska Science Park