Winners of Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park

Anders Hyltander, Surgical Science

The winner of Arvid Carlsson Award 2021 is an excellent example of how a healthcare professional, who identified an unmet need in clinical training and practice, developed a concept that led to widespread improvements for patients and physicians as well as a successful company.
Together with a technical team and long before AI was on everybody’s lips, the winner developed products that are now on the market as virtual reality simulators, bridging the gap between classroom pedagogy and the operation room for surgeons in training.
The winner is an inspiration to others, showing how passion and persistence pay off, both in creating a successful business and in making a difference to patients.

Anna-Carin Olin with team PExA

For turning academic cross-functional research into a marketed solution that addresses the rising need for biomarker identification and early diagnosis of lung disease through non-invasive measurement of the small airways.
Diseases of the lung represents an area of significant unmet medical need and increasing global prevalence, where the emergence of personalised medicine can make a huge difference with the support of effective biomarker analysis.
Anna-Carin Olin and her team show true entrepreneurship in offering both a product for immediate use in today’s research, as well as pioneering the implementation of new diagnostic standards enabling future use of novel treatment options

Professor Jens Nielsen

The winner of Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park 2019 is a role model in translating fundamental research into innovation and an inspiration within entrepreneurship.
He has founded several biotech companies, striving to improve health through novel therapeutics. He is highly recognized internationally within his field. His research, focused on systems biology, modeling of metabolism, and metabolic engineering of cell factories has created breakthrough opportunities for the industry.

Kristina Lagerstedt and Susanne Staaf, founders of 1928 Diagnostics

The winners of Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park 2018 are internationally recognized through a technique that is considered to be pioneer in solving one of the world’s largest threats to human health. Antibiotic resistance. With a global mindset from start in 2014, the Gothenburg-based company is already active in more than ten countries throughout Europe and is now planning future expansion in the US. The founders show that dedication and true entrepreneurial spirit for a good cause based on research can make a difference in the world.

Erik Gatenholm and Hector Martinez, founders of CELLINK

Going to market with a Life Science product is known to take time in a complex regulatory environment. Despite this the winners have built one of the fastest growing Life Science companies in Sweden with an international and sustainable mindset from the start. With a true entrepreneurial spirit they are influencing others to believe in their ideas. With the future ahead of them, they dare to break boundaries by collaborating and building a strong team for successful business across the world.