Anders Hyltander won the Arvid Carlsson Award 2021

8 oktober, 2021

This year’s Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park was awarded to Anders Hyltander, Surgical Science.

Since 2017, Sahlgrenska Science Park pays tribute to innovation, knowledge and competence in conjunction with good entrepreneurship through this award in Nobel Prize laureate Arvid Carlsson’s name.

The winner this year, Anders Hyltander, is an associate professor and chief physician in surgery. Today he is also working with strategy and developing Life Science and AI at Sahlgrenska University Hospital.

“He is an excellent example of how a healthcare professional, who identified an unmet need in clinical training and practice, developed a concept that led to widespread improvements for patients and physicians as well as a successful global company, now on the stock market,” says Marianne Dicander Alexandersson, Chairman of the board, Sahlgrenska Science Park.

Together with a technical team and long before AI was on everybody’s lips, the winner developed products that are now on the market as virtual reality simulators, bridging the gap between classroom pedagogy and the operation room for surgeons in training.

“I feel deeply honoured, almost overwhelmed.  I am very satisfied that together with very skilled software developers, Anders Larsson and David Löfstrand, we could make a difference in improving the quality of care and patient safety, and that is what counts at the end of the day,” says Anders Hyltander.

The winner is an inspiration to others, showing how passion and persistence pay off, both in creating a successful business and in making a difference to patients.

“The message I try to convey to my younger colleagues is; don’t be afraid. If you have an idea, go for it. The innovation system is well equipped, and today we have structures that can help you on the entrepreneurial journey,” says Anders Hyltander.

Last year’s winner, Anna-Carin Olin, PExA, passed the prize on at a ceremony yesterday at the 16th Park Annual by Sahlgrenska Science Park. She was also part of the jury for this year’s award.

“This is the 5th consecutive year for the award, and the jury now consists of previous winners together with our Chairman of the board and myself,” says Charlotta Gummeson, CEO Sahlgrenska Science Park.


Jury 2021

The jury consists of previous winners of the Arvid Carlsson Award:

Hector Martinez, CTO, BICO (Cellink)
Kristina Lagerstedt, CEO and co-founder, 1928 Diagnostics
Jens Nielsen, Professor, CEO BioInnovation Institute
Anna-Carin Olin, Founder and Board member, PExA

Together with:
Marianne Dicander Alexandersson, Chairman, Sahlgrenska Science Park
Charlotta Gummeson, CEO, Sahlgrenska Science Park

About Arvid Carlsson
Arvid Carlsson, born 1923, was awarded the Nobel Prize in medicine for ”discoveries concerning signal transduction in the nervous system ” in 2000. Among other things, he studied the neurotransmitters dopamine and serotonin. He shared the award with the Americans Paul Greengard and Eric R. Kandel. Arvid Carlsson’s research led to the recognition that Parkinson’s disease is caused by dopamine deficiency in some parts of the brain and subsequently to the production of Levodopa, an effective drug against this disease. Arvid Carlsson was active until 2018 in his company A. Carlsson Research at Sahlgrenska Science Park in Gothenburg.


Photo: Ceremony at Park Annual on 7 Oct 2021. From the left: Charlotta Gummeson, CEO, Sahlgrenska SP, Anders Hyltander, Surgical Science, Anna-Carin Olin, PExA, Marianne Dicander Alexandersson, Chairman of the Board, Sahlgrenska SP

Lizelotte Edvinsson
Kommunikatör med ansvar för marknadsföring, eventsamordning
+46 705 334 243