Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park

Starting in 2017, Sahlgrenska Science Park awards the Arvid Carlsson Award every year in September. The aim is to pay tribute to innovation, knowledge and competence in conjunction with good entrepreneurship through an award in Nobel Prize winner Arvid Carlsson’s name.

It is in line with Sahlgrenska Science Park’s vision of a world-class life science region, and  is awarded to an entrepreneur who drives development forward for human health and wellbeing.

The Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park 2018 is open for nominations 

The ambition is to give recognition and honor to promising and future entrepreneurs in academia, healthcare and industry to stimulate continued learning and networking in the global arena that is life science. Arvid Carlsson, who was awarded the Nobel Prize in medicine in 2000 for his ” ”for discoveries concerning signal transduction in the nervous system”, is still active in his company, A. Carlsson Research, at Sahlgrenska Science Park in Gothenburg today.

Arvid Carlsson is a true inspiration and entrepreneur in our environment, and his work has not only been crucial in research and medicine but he is still driven by curiosity and ambition to solve major health problems,” says Charlotta Gummeson, CEO of Sahlgrenska Science Park.
”I am very happy and proud to give name to an award that strengthens and praises innovation and entrepreneurship while emphasizing the importance of constant competence development,” says Arvid Carlsson.

Facts about the Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park

Who can get the award?

Entrepreneurs who push forward development for human health and wellbeing.

What does the prize consist of ?

In addition to honors and diplomas, the prize consists of a challenge prize as well as participation in an international conference including travel and accommodation.
Lessons learned from the conference will be described afterwards in conjunction with a lecture for entrepreneurs and companies at Sahlgrenska Science Park.


The jury consists of the Board of Sahlgrenska Science Park which represents the business community, University of Gothenburg, Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Chalmers University of Technology, Västra Götaland Region, Business Region Gothenburg and Mölndal City.

  • Marianne Dicander Alexandersson, (Chairman)
  • Ivan Mijakovic, Professor, Director of the Life Science Engineering Area of Advance Chalmers University of Technology
  • Eva Wiberg, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, University of Gothenburg
  • Cecilia Dalman Eek, Member of the City Council, City of Gothenburg
  • Birgitta Losman, Member The Region Västra Götaland
  • Håkan Ahlström, City Director, Mölndal City
  • Ann-Marie Wennberg, Professor and CEO Sahlgrenska University Hospital

Award ceremony

This year, the prize is awarded on September 27, 2018 in conjunction with Park Annual by Sahlgrenska Science Park, organized for the 13th consecutive year.

Nominate a candidate

Proposals can be submitted until 10 September 2018.

About Nobel Prize winner Arvid Carlsson

Arvid Carlsson, born 1923, was awarded the Nobel Prize in medicine for ”discoveries concerning signal transduction in the nervous system ” in 2000. Among other things, he studied the neurotransmitters dopamine and serotonin. He shared the award with the Americans Paul Greengard and Eric R. Kandel. Arvid Carlsson’s research led to the recognition that Parkinson’s disease is caused by dopamine deficiency in some parts of the brain and subsequently to the production of Levodopa, an effective drug against this disease. Read more about Arvid Carlsson and the Nobel Prize here.